ST STEPHEN PARISH COUNCIL

Bricket Wood, Chiswell Green and Park Street

THE PARISH CENTRE STATION ROAD BRICKET WOOD ST ALBANS HERTS AL2 3PJ

Tel: 01923 681443

Email: clerk@ststephen-pc.gov.uk
Web: www.ststephen-pc.gov.uk



Extraordinary Full Council Meeting

held on Monday 30 May 2022 at 7.30pm

at the Parish Centre, St Stephen Suite, Station Road, Bricket Wood, Herts, AL2 3PJ

Present: Councillors

Wendy Berriman David Parry David Yates
Bill Pryce Eileen Whittaker Mark Skelton

Daniel Spelman Nicholas Tyndale

Also present Isabel Crozier, Assistant Clerk

1 member of public

2223/020 To receive and accept apologies for absence

Apologies were received and accepted from Cllrs Hilton and Berriman

2223/021 To receive declarations of interest and dispensations

- a) To receive declarations of interest from Councillors on items on the agenda None
- b) To receive written requests for dispensations for declarable interests None
- c) To grant any requests for dispensation as appropriate None

2223/022 To review and adopt the Standing Orders for 2022/23

Draft Standing Orders were circulated in advance of the meeting with changes proposed to Section 7a and Section 18.

Cllr Parry proposed that the Chairs of committees were decided at Full Council rather than at the first meeting of the committee. This was not seconded.

Resolved: Cllr Pryce proposed adopting the Standing Orders for 2022/23 with the proposed amendments previously circulated, with the additional amendment to section 4d, only referring to committees rather than standing committees and removing clause 4d vi (which refers to the election of chairs of standing committees at Full Council), seconded Cllr Tyndale

Votes: For Unanimous Motion Carried

2223/023 To appoint representatives to serve on Committees, working parties and outside bodies (current lists of Committees, Working Parties and outside bodies circulated)

The Chair and Vice-chair are ex-officio on all committees.

Finance Committee

Cllrs: Martin Doyle

Dorothy Kerry David Parry Mark Skelton Eileen Whittaker David Yates Wendy Berriman

Bill Pryce

Human Resources Committee

Cllrs: Wendy Berriman

Dorothy Kerry Bill Pryce

Nicholas Tyndale Eileen Whittaker

Vacancy to be filled at future Full Council meeting

Planning and Environment Committee

Cllrs David Brannen

Martin Doyle Daniel Spelman Bill Pryce

Mark Skelton David Yates

Community and Leisure Committee

Cllrs: Wendy Berriman

Dorothy Kerry Daniel Spelman Bill Pryce

Eileen Whittaker

Up to four Co-opted from the community

Fixed Assets Committee

Cllrs: Martin Doyle

David Parry Bill Pryce Mark Skelton Nicholas Tyndale David Yates

Task and Finish Groups / Working Parties

Future Developments Task and Finish Group

report to: Fixed Assets Committee

Cllrs Wendy Berriman

Martin Doyle David Parry Mark Skelton David Yates

Woodbury Field Task and Finish Group Reports to Fixed Assets committee

Clirs Wendy Berriman

David Parry Bill Pryce

Youth Projects Task and Finish Group Committee report to: Community & Leisure

Cllrs Wendy Berriman

Ajanta Hilton David Parry Daniel Spelman Communications Task and Finish Group

Committee report to: Full Council

Cllrs Ajanta Hilton

David Parry Mark Skelton Nicholas Tyndale David Yates

Annual Events Working Party

Report to: Community & Leisure Committee

Cllrs Wendy Berriman

Ajanta Hilton Dorothy Kerry Bill Pryce

Eileen Whittaker Daniel Spelman

Co-opted Representatives of Residents Associations

Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

Committee report to: Planning

Cllrs Dorothy Kerry

Bill Pryce David Yates

Co-opted: Rod Harman, Dianah Ellis, Jon Breen

Tennis Club Liaison Group

Report to: Fixed Assets Committee

Cllrs David Parry

TBC

Representatives on outside bodies

Bricket Wood Joint Management Committee (SADC)

Cllrs David Brannen

Dorothy Kerry David Parry

ABFLY

Cllrs David Parry

Nicholas Tyndale

Community Rail Partnership

David Parry

Bricket Wood Station Heritage Trust

Bill Pryce

St Albans and District Association of Local Councils

David Parry

Herts Association of Parish and Town Councils

Bill Pryce

Park Street Village Hall

David Yates

STRiFE (Stop The Rail Freight Exchange)

Bill Pryce

Park Street Primary School Bill Pryce

How Wood Primary School Bill Pryce

Killigrew Primary School Ajanta Hilton

Mount Pleasant Primary School TBC

Resolved: Cllr Parry proposed that the above list of representatives on Committees, Task and

Finish/Working Groups and outside bodies be agreed, seconded Cllr Yates

Votes: For Unanimous Motion Carried

2223/024 To reconfirm date and venues for all meetings for 2022/23

Resolved: Cllr Pryce proposed that the circulated list of meetings for 2022/23 be agreed,

seconded Cllr Tyndale

Votes: For Unanimous Motion Carried

2223/025 Public Participation – to receive petitions, comments and questions

To welcome public participation in accordance with the Public Speaking Policy None

2223/026 To confirm fees and agreement to appoint a mobile licensee for the Armed Forces Day

Resolved: Cllr Pryce proposed that the Council charge 15% of the overall takings from the

day, seconded Cllr Brannen

Votes: For Unanimous Motion Carried

2223/027 To discuss correspondence (circulated) from St Albans District Council requesting early comments in reference to proposed Changes at Planning Committees at SADC and agree subsequent actions and comments

SADC are proposing that the planning referral committees are combined into one for the District and also that the call-in system is only permitted by members of the planning referrals committee instead of any district councillor. Other councils have written in objection to this. **Resolved:** Cllr Pryce proposed that the Council write to SADC in strong objection to proposals to change the call-in system and for it to remain possible for ward cllrs to call-in a planning application, seconded Cllr Skelton

Votes: For Unanimous Motion Carried

Action: Cllr Pryce to write to SADC in objection to the proposed changes to the Planning referrals committee

2223/028 Clerks Report

None

The meeting closed at 8.20pm

Signed

Date